Make your own free website on

Ferdinand Magellan set out from Spain in 1519 on the first voyage to circumnavigate the globe with five ships and a compliment of 264 crew. Three years later in 1522, only the one ship, the Victoria, returned from Spain with 18 men.

Magellan was welcomed by two Rajas, Kolambu and Siagu. He named the islands the Archipelago of San Lazaro, erected a cross and claimed the lands for Spain. The friendly Rajas took Magellan to Cebu to meet Raja Humabon. Humabon and 800 Cebuanos were baptized as Christians. Magellan agrteed to help Raja Humabon put down Lapu-Lapu, a rebellious datu on the nearby island of Mactan. In a battle between Spanish soldiers and Lapu-Lapu's warriors, Magellan was killed on April 27, 1521. Disputes over women cased relations between Raja Humabon and the remaining Spaniards to deteriorate. The Cebuanos killed 27 Spaniards in a skirmish and the Spaniards, decidingm to resume their explorations, departed Cebu.

Four more expedition followed between 1525 and 1542. The commander of the fourth expedition. Ruy Lopez de Villalobos, named the islands after Philip, heir to the Spanish throne (r. Philip II 1556-1598).

The Philippines was not formally organized as a Spanish colony until 1565 when Philip II appointed Miguel Lopez de Lega zpi the first Governor-General.. Legazpi selected Manila for the capital of he colony in 1571 because of its fine natural harbour and the rich lands surrounding the city that could supply it with prodduce.

Home The Japanese Conquest The American Period Philippine Presidents  
Site designed by: Nenita O. Damian