Make your own free website on


Pearl of the Orient Seas  

The Philippines is anarchipelago of 7,107 islands in the South
Ccina Sea situated between Taiwan to the north and Borneo
to the south. Just 2,000 of its islands are inhabited and only 500 are larger than a kilometre square. The nine largest islands of Luzon, Mindanao, PAlawan, Panay, Mindoro, Samar, Negros, Leyte and Cebu make up 90% of the nation's land area.

The original people of the Philippines were the ancestors of the people known today as Negritos or Aeta. They are an Australo-Melanesian people with dark skin and tight, curly brown hair. They are also distinctively small and of short stature. As the Pygmies in the equatorial forests of Africa, the Aeta are believed to have adapted locally to the tropical jungles of the Philippines.

The Aeta are nomadic hunting and gathering people who forage in a small family bands withan informal organization and leadership. They were once widespreadn throughout the Philippines but are now found only in the remote areas of Luzon, Palawan, Panay, Negros and Mindanao.

Link to estrada page Link to ramos page Link to aquino page Link to marcos page Link to macapagal page

Spanish Colony The Japanese Conquest The American Period Philippine Presidents  
Site designed by: Nenita O. Damian
CCC - M3